I am a lazy man

Publié le par osho canada

I AM A LAZY MAN -- I never wanted to do such a thing as I had to do to create a commune.
 
    IT IS EASY FOR ME TO TALK ABOUT EVERYTHING IN THE WORLD -- whether I know about it or not, it does not matter, I don't care at all. I simply enjoy talking. So it is not a question that whether I know about it or not. I enjoy in both the cases.
 
    TALKING IS EASY -- THAT I HAVE DONE FROM MY VERY CHILDHOOD. I used to sleep in the room with my grandfather. I asked him that, "You always cover your head under the blanket, even when it is not so cold." He said, "It is not a question of cold. It is you! You talk even in your sleep, and you talk so relevantly that I become interested." It is that old man who had given me also the habit of covering my head -- because I said that this is not good to disturb the old man in the night. Since then I am also sleeping with covered head. So even if I start talking nobody is disturbed. 
 
    TALKING HAS BEEN TO ME JUST LIKE BREATHING. That's the only thing I have done in my whole life. So I recognized it. But it took years for me to collect myself, and to get involved, not just to go on standing on the bank of the river, talking, talking... and the river goes on flowing without listening.
 
    I HAD TO DECIDE THAT I WILL HAVE TO JUMP AND DO SOMETHING -- this flow of the river has to be disturbed -- although it was against my nature.

So even though I have created communes, I AM ALMOST OUTSIDE THE COMMUNE.
 
    BUT I HAVE FOUND THE RAREST PEOPLE IN THE CONTEMPORARY WORLD, the very cream -- intelligent. There is no need for me to do anything -- I have just to give a hint. And sometimes even a hint is not necessary.
 
    EVERYTHING GOES ON HAPPENING EXACTLY THE WAY I WOULD HAVE LIKED IT TO HAPPEN. I can love you, but I cannot dictate you; I cannot say to you "do this", and I cannot nag you if you don't do it...
 
    BUT I HAVE FOUND MY PEOPLE. Now it is no more a question of my two hands -- MILLIONS OF HANDS ARE WITH ME AROUND THE WORLD. They are all my hands. I can now afford to be absolutely lazy.
 
    AND YOU KNOW I AM LAZY -- I DON'T DO ANYTHING... OR I DO THINGS WHICH ONLY LAZY PEOPLE LIKE ME CAN AFFORD. Two hours in the morning, taking bath. I don't think even Alexander the Great was able to afford that. Two hours again in the evening, taking bath. You should one day come and see my bath -- Vivek does not allow anybody to enter. It is enough that she allows me. (laughter) Otherwise she is a very strict manager. But she allows me. (laughter)
 
    VIVEK AND HASYA BOTH TOGETHER HAVE MADE MY BATH REALLY PLEASANT, because they must be thinking that two hours this man in the morning, two hours in the evening... just with the water. So now you must see my bathroom. They have arranged so many things there, that two hours are falling short. Now I am thinking to start a third bath in the night, (laughter) because two more hours are needed. And the remaining time, I just sit with closed eyes listening to music, and mostly I fall asleep, to be frank with you... because I have been listening to the same music for 30 years.
 
    THERE IS A LIMIT OF PATIENCE TOO! (laughter) It is strange that as the music starts, I start dozing, and I wake up immediately as the music stops. I am myself surprised. This is something strange -- I should be awake when the music is on. I am awake before it is put on, and I am immediately awake when it is going to stop. Just I hear the last line and the first line. But I know the middle, so there is no problem. Nothing is missed!
 
    AND THIS IS JUST IN THE MORNING. The whole night I have been asleep. And I must be sleeping just as I finish talking with you, I went to sleep within half-an-hour. And I sleep up to 7:00, just because nothing else is there to do.
 
    SLEEPING IS A GREAT ACTIVITY. And I cannot believe it that at 7:00 I have got out of bed, and by 9:00, after my bath, listening to the music, I am again asleep. Up to 11:00 this goes on with music. Then I take my lunch and go to sleep again. And I had to tell Vivek that, "Remember I have to go for the 2:00 o'clock ride to see my people. So wake me up, because I may continue to sleep." I can sleep 24 hours. And not one day -- every day.
 
    When I came from India to here I was completely asleep the whole time. I enjoyed it very much because of such a long sleep. After the ride I come back, again that music. It seems to be something to do with my past karmas that I HAVE TO LISTEN TO THE SAME MUSIC AGAIN AND AGAIN AND AGAIN, and I fall asleep again. It is good that there is nobody -- I am alone. I wake up at 4:30, and again my bath time.
 
    NOW THIS KIND OF A MAN, DO YOU THINK CAN CREATE A REVOLUTION? But somehow it is happening!

PEOPLE THINK WALKING ON WATER IS A MIRACLE -- IDIOTS! Just last week I saw the German magazine, Stern. They have a cartoon about me. The cartoon has the outlines of Krishnamurti Lake and sannyasins are standing on one side, AND MY ROLLS ROYCE IS MOVING ON THE LAKE. And one of the sannyasins says, "It must be Osho!" 
 
    That is not much of a miracle. WHAT IS REALLY HAPPENING HERE IS A MIRACLE. I do nothing... but I don't know why you have fallen in love with me, I don't deserve it, either. Because I have never done anything, how can I deserve so many people's love?
 
    BUT YOUR LOVE IS DOING THE MIRACLE. You are here for no other reason. Sometimes you also must be wondering why you are here. I also wonder why. But love is such a thing that you go on wondering why, and it goes on happening...
 
    I don't know where your office is. I don't know how your finances are managed. I DON'T KNOW WHO IS DOING WHAT. What to say about the commune? -- I don't know even in this house what is going on! Where is my kitchen? I have not seen it!
 
    The people are afraid because they have never seen love at work. They have tried by force to create culture, civilization... by violence, and they have failed. HERE, LOVE IS AT WORK. And when love is at work, it attracts intelligence. THERE IS AN INNER ATTUNEMENT BETWEEN LOVE AND INTELLIGENCE.
 
    IT IS NOT ACCIDENTAL that so many intelligent people from all over the world have become interested in me, who is against everything they have been brought up: who is against their culture, who is against their country, who is against their religion, who is against their parents, who is against their children even who are not born yet, who won't allow them to be born. If it was in my power, I would not have allowed your parents to be born -- it is too late. But your children I am not going to allow.
 
    THIS IS THE ONLY PLACE IN THE WHOLE WORLD WHERE LOVE IS DOING THINGS. And love never says, it never dictates. It is the most mysterious energy in the whole world. It makes things happen.
 
    PERHAPS LOVE IS THE VERY CENTER OF ALL THAT MOVES. All the stars that are moving... Scientists are searching the center, there must be a center to the universe. I am not a scientist, but I know the center. Let them search, they will never find it. Because their very methodology will not allow them to find love.
 
    LOVE IS THE CENTER OF THE WHOLE UNIVERSE. The suns, the moons, the planets, the stars, all are moving around it. And we have created this small commune on the same existential principle!
 
    EVERYBODY FEELS RESPONSIBLE. I don't say to you that you are responsible towards the commune, towards me, towards my philosophy. I have never said anything like that -- but you feel to be responsible -- because somebody trusts you, somebody loves you. In spite of yourself, somebody accepts you in your totality as you are.
 
OSHO
From Darkness to Light
Ch #23: Our way is of humor, our way is of bliss
pm in Lao Tzu Grove
 

Publié dans OSHO QUOTES

Pour être informé des derniers articles, inscrivez vous :
Commenter cet article